D.I.Y. Literary decor

20130825_173004 20130825_173026 20130825_172950

I first saw this kind of book display in a craft shop in Finland two years ago. It looked so simple yet effective that I tried it for myself when I got home. The design is pretty self-evident: the pages of the book are simply folded in half, I didn’t even need to glue them in place. I had to cut out a few of the first and last pages so that the book didn’t open out too widely, and I also put a little wedge of paper underneath the pages to keep it from leaning forward once it was done. The book itself is Walter Scott’s Rob Roy (I like to think he wouldn’t be offended by my alternative use of his novel) and I found it for £1 in a charity shop (obviously the book must be hard-back). You could easily add more decoration to the pages themselves or the inside covers to make this quick and easy project even wonderfuller. Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

